Macro photography spider surprise

Admittedly I haven’t read more than 49 pages of my big book of mastering the Nikon D3S yet and failed to read even a page since I actually started blogging, but to be fair I did have a relaxing, enjoyable weekend which included going out on a hike to Point Mugu. I took my macro lens along because I figured there would be some good opportunities for (wait for it…) photographing flowers.   

I know. I KNOW. Flowers are everyone’s favorite to photograph because no matter what it still looks pretty even if it’s boring. But I started loving close-up flower photography when my ex-fiance photographer showed me how intricate the insides of flowers can be (even though she’s an evildoer and the world’s most terrible person ever), and I am dying to learn more about using a macro lens properly. I hear a voice inside my head that sounds like every photographer-slash-parental-figure I’ve ever known tell me, “Maybe you should learn the basics first before futzing with the fancy lenses,” but where’s the fun in that?

I’m unsure where the fun is in that, considering a couple weekends ago I wasted two hours of my life trying to take a picture of a drop of water that would look even remotely like this and failing miserably. If I remember to post those pics this week you’ll be treated to some blurry epic fails.

However, my grand day out with the macro was horrendously frustrating: it was windy, there weren’t many flowers, the bugs wouldn’t stand still and goddammit how the hell do you get the goddamned thing in focus? Speaking of focus, I noticed once I had the macro lens on that I started seeing things on the hike differently. I was looking for tiny things and noticing way more detail about leafs and flowers and bugs. Toward the end of the hike I noticed this bee under a yellow flower (below.) I thought, “Hey weird, the bee is under the flower.” I literally thought the bee might be napping.

The next day when I opened up the file to view it on my screen, I had the shock of the weekend. That’s not napping, that’s nature. NEAT. And gross. And terrifying:

So for this image, the bee (or spider, for that matter) wasn’t what was in focus. I used the sharpener in photoshop to try to sharpen it as much as possible, but if you zoom in you can kind of tell where it starts to get pixelated. Still, EPIC! Man that’s a horrible way to go.

A total payoff of a shot even though it wasn’t exactly the best day for the camera. I didn’t really take my time focusing because of a number of reasons: I had my dog, Schroeder, with me, there were horses coming down the trail and it was windy so the flower was moving around and it was at the end of this bitch of a hill and I was exhausted. But yeah, excellent luck all around. EVOLUTION. It’s a thing. Look it up.

Here are some more shots of the day. These images were taken with a Nikon D3s using a 105 Nikkor macro lens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Macro photography spider surprise

  1. Pingback: Here’s what happened the first time I tried to take a picture of a drop of water. | Less Than Amateur

Leave a Reply

