Post production: sharpness vs. glamour shots vs. *gasp* Sepia

I didn’t get to shoot the past two weekends due to a family emergency that has kept me busy the past 9 days so I have a few posts to make up. I did fly back to Los Angeles on Saturday for a beach event, and have been having a hard time color correcting them in Lightroom.

Once I figure out all the ins and outs of my fancy camera, I think I need to start doing (or watching?) some tutorials on Lightroom and editing. One feature I like a lot is the sharpness slider – I’ve traditionally (if you can call the past month of habit a ‘tradition’) I tend to go for crispness in editing. For these, because I tried to emulate my friend Marcus’ style of capturing people in the moment, I wanted to soften the pics. The light tended to (it seemed) bring out more wrinkles than usual. Either that or we’re just getting old and weathered.

I also went for a sepia tone, hard – which I will focus on in another post.

Here’s a couple shots from the day that take a look at the original images vs. the softer edits. I will note that the bottom image is oversoft on purpose to make it look like a glamour shot from 1984. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post production: sharpness vs. glamour shots vs. *gasp* Sepia

  1. ndjmom says:

    I like the sepia better for this photo. Why? Because in the color version the chairs in the upper left are too distracting and after changing to sepia the focal point changes. (ok, the crop has something to do with it too, but you get where I’m going)

  2. I’m totally with you on this. The color version is also too blue.

Leave a Reply

