Sepia as a filter: love it or hate it?

So I took all these photos at the beach last weekend and ended up using a lot of sepia filtering when editing. The photos were edited in Lightroom (which, like my camera I’m still learning to use) and I just couldn’t seem to fuss properly with the levels to get them to look normal. Some looked kind of blue, others had harsh lighting, etc.

I normally enjoy the editing process but this was kind of frustrating. I thought the sepia tone made them look better, but my question is: Is using Sepia cheating? Here are some before and after pics from the day, I will let you be the judge. All comments / suggestions welcome.

Processed:

As taken:

Processed:

As taken:

Processed:

As taken:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sepia as a filter: love it or hate it?

  1. jbassal says:

    I’ve always been a sepia fan, but ya, i worry too about it have that faux ol’ fashioned look, whatever, as long as it looks good right.

  2. ndjmom says:

    The tone in the first seems too dark, I think it would look better as a black and white, but the 2nd and third shots are better in sepia. You don’t have to leave them really dark, just bring your slide down. I’m one to talk, I love color and realism, but I’m trying to develop an eye for black/white and sepia.

Leave a Reply

