Photo filing system

Administration is not my strong suit. I credit the organization I have in my photograph files to outside advice given early. One particular gem stands out in that I was told to back up all of my photographs from a trip to Morocco two years ago on to discs, or a separate drive. I got some DVDs and burned both the edited images and the Raw files and put them away and didn’t think about them until last weekend. I was going through old photos of Morocco on this laptop, inspired after a friend from that trip posted one of the ones she took on the evil Facebook.

I took some good photos (not great ones, but solid enough) there and a few of them could have been edited better. I immediately started looking for those old discs and told myself not to panic or be angry if I couldn’t find them, but that it would be a lesson for me in backing up files (I also have a separate drive I save all new files to now.)

So this week my project is going to be to re-edit some of those images in the hopes I can get smoother results. I didn’t know how to use a digital SLR camera when I took a d200 to Morocco, so a lot of shots are a bit off in terms of exposure.

And I’ve had a lot more practice in Lightroom and Photoshop editing, so I think I can do a bit better on some of them with a little more effort. These aren’t necessarily the ones I will go back and edit, though the one below could use some vignetting, but it’s nice to be able to revisit these memories (while fine tuning some of my photos.)

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo filing system

  1. Jontacular says:

    Good thinking – I’ve often thought it’d be interesting to revisit shots from a few years back to see how I’d approach them now! Lovely shots in there.

Leave a Reply

