Dust Storm, Mojave Desert

I seem to have good luck at this spot. Driving home from Death Valley we came across a whippin’ wind storm and I pulled over near the dry lakebed off the 14 near Red Rock Canyon. I had shot here before, you can see those here: https://lessthanamateur.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/photographers-are-like-djs/

DSC_9615-Edit

I got out of the car and for a minute thought perhaps that I had made a fatal mistake and these would be my last moments before I was guzzled by a rare Mojave tornado (they do happen.)  I couldn’t see anything to my right, just dust. The railroad signs behind me were shaking like crazy and four or so cars had just come speeding out from the direction of the dust storm.

DSC_9639-Edit

The wind was so strong it was pelting me in the face and body where my arms and legs were uncovered with rocks. Not dirt. Rocks. I snapped a few frames praying to the gods that my new wide angle lens wouldn’t get cracked and raced back to the car. It felt like a movie, trying to move quickly in that wind (I’d later read the wind gusts were up to 80 mph.) These are the best shots from those few minutes.

DSC_9633-Edit

Shot with a Nikon D3s and my fancy new 14mm wide angle lens.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dust Storm, Mojave Desert

  1. Anonymous says:

    Watch out… desert dust storms can damage equipment, especially non-weather sealed lenses!

  2. Mark Kertesz says:

    Stunning photographs

  3. Mona says:

    Stunning images.

  4. Eric E Photo says:

    Killer!!!!!!! That also answered my lens question….Keep going to those rad places!!!!

Leave a Reply

