A post that has no point, in which I ramble about various things and post some shots of Costa Rica.

Choosing what lenses and gear to bring on vacation has always been a challenge for me – especially when travelling  in countries known for petty theft. Though most of my gear is insured, I never want to face the hassle of filing claims and replacing it.

DSC_5890

With that in mind, I didn’t bring a macro lens with me. My 105 mm is heavy and my pack was already full with a D3s, D800, tripod, charges, filters, and other lenses: fisheye and my all-around [albeit heavy] 28 – 300mm and a standard 50mm / 1.4 (which is my favorite lens to use.)

The first night we were in Manuel Antonio, we took a guided night tour of the property’s forested area. The property has trails that weave around at the edge of a cliffed peninsula, making it a spectacular place to stay since you don’t actually need to leave the property to experience the forest. I had been to Costa Rica several times prior, but this is the first time I’ve ever had the chance to see, let alone shoot, this famous tree frog.

DSC_5519

Of course, the very first night I was lamenting my decision to leave my macro at home given all the small reptiles I was taking photos of. Nevertheless, the above is my favorite shot from that night (more of that night in the gallery below.)

Later in the week we took a boat tour through some mangroves. Michele had the 50 and I had the 28-300. The thing about mangroves is that it’s shady, and with the slow, clumsy speed of the 28-300 I had to be very careful about how I shot anything at a distance. Most of the time if this lens is fully extended, I won’t get a clear, crisp shot. Michele and I would trade off throughout the boat tour, but here’s one that I nailed on the fly using the 28-300:

DSC_5744

I am making a point this year to use my 50mm more often instead of relying solely on the zoom. Right now, the best benefit of this pseudo-resolution is that the 50 is incredibly lightweight in comparison. Last week, I ruptured my rhomboid muscle (again) on my left shoulder, a condition that’s caused by  typing all day and letting your pec muscles atrophy and carrying a pack that’s too heavy for you. :/ Needless to say, I’m working out after this blog post.
DSC_6225

The above shot was taken while on a fast-moving boat out to Corcovado for the day from Dominical. Pretty rare to see this, I’d imagine, so I was super stoked when I was able to pull a clean shot while on a bumpy boat. I’m told they stay like this for three days. Hello ladies.

DSC_5666

The shot above is of the sleeping long-nosed bat we found in the mangroves. These bats line up like this and jiggle in their sleep to mimic a snake on a tree. The greatest part about this particular group was that there’s an albino that totally gives them away. As I shot this photo, I was humming “One of these kids is not like the other one” quietly.

A gallery with more images is below.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

