Here’s Michele’s video of the Trident Missile, and my pics of the Trident Missile are on Slate.com today!

Wow, 100,000 views on my little photo blog page! Thanks to everyone for your kind words – pretty neat to think my little photo pages saw some killer action yesterday. And wooooowwwwww there’s a lot of conspiracy theory comments and messages I’ve received.

2015DSC_7351Mt Whitney 3DS Nightlapse 2

I want to take a moment to quickly address a few points, however.

  1. My photos are not fake. (Oh sweet irony.) They are color corrected in Adobe Lightroom and the sky and ground are burned so you can see as clearly as we were seeing that night. The blue ballooning haze you see in my images was actually brighter to my eyes than to my camera. I actually truly suck at Photoshop, so in a way it’s a weird compliment anyone thinks I could put that image together.
  2. This is in no way a blog post about seeing a UFO. I did give permission to the Inquistr to use my images, but that is not an endorsement.
    whoa

Yesterday when I put “UFO” in my headline, I was being pretty tongue in cheek – we had
confirmation from the Pentagon and the Navy by that point on the missile test. The weird blue halo and the blue ballooning gases that made it look like an explosion had made the whole thing seem surreal and alien, but I was never actually suggesting that it WAS ALIUMZ.

I was curious about why it looked like an explosion to us though, and spoke to a handful of engineers and (for lack of a better term) a few rocket scientists.

There’s a really, really, really great explanation here, on Slate, from Bad Astronomer explaining what I was seeing:

Capture

http://www.slate.com/blogs/bad_astronomy/2015/11/10/trident_launch_photos_and_time_lapse.html.

I’m not a rocket scientist, but I do understand the basics of physics and chemistry so this all makes perfect sense to me. The angle of how we were seeing the missile was the last piece of the puzzle for me and I thought about it nonstop for hours until we saw this photographer’s photos (all credit to Justin Majeczky, photographer) from San Francisco. Then we realized we were seeing the missile from behind.

But what a sight it was.

This blog is really only ever frequented by my friends or outer acquaintance circle, I didn’t anticipate 100,000 people from all over the world hitting it or I might have adjusted my headline a bit. Something something hindsight 20/20 something, right?

Lastly, it’s worth pointing out that in terms of stats and countries hitting my blog after the United States, on my stats list of the next countries hitting my blog the most are Russia, Ukraine and further down the stats, Egypt. So Putin and the rest of you, I know you can hear me, bruh, so I’m just gonna say this once: Human Rights, Bro, Okay?

Now that those things are out of the way, definitely check out my wife Michele’s video of the missile – taken with a Nikon d800 and a fisheye 10mm lens: https://www.facebook.com/shellymonstr/videos/vb.74903212/10100107084838670/?type=2&theater

Capture

She doesn’t have as many images as I do, since I think she was on the phone trying to figure out what was coming toward us (note: we now know it was *not* coming toward us) and I think she was a little more paralyzed with fear than I was (we were both incredibly scared.) The really great addition to her photos, however, is that you can see the scale of it compared to the Range Rover in the foreground – THAT’S how big it was in the sky for us.

This blog has always been about me chronicling what I learn every time I go out to shoot something. This week, the lessons have been countless, and besides “better headlines” and a handful of other lessons I’m slowly descending into copyright madness as people rip my GIF off my site and post it to YouTube (and then fight with me about taking it down because “missile tests are with tax dollars so this belongs to everyone.” What in the actual hell?)

This weekend I’m going to maybe go out to Carrizo Plains and continue to work on my desert timelapses, but something tells me it will be a far less exciting adventure 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here’s Michele’s video of the Trident Missile, and my pics of the Trident Missile are on Slate.com today!

  1. Nati Natalie says:

    How awesome to be able to say “I’m not a rocket scientist” in a totally appropriate situation!!

Leave a Reply

